Denver, CO – Coloradans yesterday voted to give Democrats control of the State Senate. The Senate will convene for the 2019 legislative session on January 4th with 19 Democrats and 16 Republicans. Democrats will now control all three branches of state government.

“Voters across our great state have spoken, and they have said that it is time for Democrats to lead the way. Every Coloradan, whether you are a Democrat, Independent, or Republican, has reason to celebrate. They have elected leaders who will stand up for our children, for our environment, and for the health, safety, and prosperity of every Coloradan,” said Senate Democratic Leader Leroy Garcia.

Democrats flipped three seats previously held by Republicans or Independents including Tammy Story (SD-16, previously held by Republican Sen. Tim Neville), Rep. Jessie Danielson (SD-20, previously held by Independent Sen. Cheri Jahn), and Rep. Faith Winter (SD-24, previously held by Republican Sen. Beth Martinez Humenik).

Voters chose to elect Julie Gonzales (SD-34), Rep. Brittany Pettersen (SD-22), Robert Rodriquez (SD-32), and Rep. Pete Lee (SD-11) to replace term-limited Democratic Senators and to re-elect Senators Leroy Garcia (SD-3) and Kerry Donovan (SD-5).

“Coloradans have resoundingly chosen progress over the status quo. They have decided not to give up in the face of tough challenges. They have decided that Coloradans can find solutions to problems that move every community across this state forward together,” added Garcia.

“We are going to build on this energy and, with a democratic trifecta, we are going to get to work fighting for every Coloradan – no matter what corner of the state you live in,” said Garcia.

The 19 member Senate Democratic Caucus for the 2019 legislative session includes Senators Leroy Garcia, Kerry Donovan, Pete Lee, John Kefalas, Tammy Story, Matt Jones, Stephen Fenberg, Rachel Zenzinger, Jessie Danielson, Dominick Moreno, Brittany Pettersen, Faith Winter, Daniel Kagan, Nancy Todd, Rhonda Fields, Lois Court, Robert Rodriquez, Angela Williams, and Julie Gonzales.